Dunham Massey
Archives
Total copies: 1
The name Dunham is derived from the Anglo-Saxon dun, meaning hill. The Massey element of the name is a result of its ownership by the Massey family. The manor of Dunham is recorded in the Doomsday Book of 1086 as having belonged to the Saxon thegn Aelfward before the Norman Conquest and to Hamo de Masci after. De Masci also had control over the manors of Baguley, Bowdon, Hale, Partington, and Timperley. The addition of "Massey" to the name Dunham reflects the manor's importance; Dunham was the seat of the Masseys. The importance of Dunham is further emphasized by the presence of two of de Massey's castles: Dunham Castle and Watch Hill Castle on the border with Bowdon; a third, Ullerwood Castle, was near Hale. The Masseys remained lords of Dunham and its environs until the 14th century, when the line became extinct.
Further information available on the Local Studies catalogue
Title:
Dunham Massey
Reference number:
9669775/6/10
Level of description:
Part from Item: Explore Trafford (9669775)
Part of:
Access restrictions:
UnrestrictedReference Collection (non-circulating)
Use restrictions:
UnrestrictedIt is the sole responsibility of the researcher to acquire any necessary permission(s) from copyright owners, as well as to ensure that their work does not breach copyright terms and conditions.
Topics:
Language:
English
Record number:
6876095